Prithvi-II short-range ballistic missile tests successfully in India

In a night-time test firing of its indigenously developed nuclear-capable Prithvi-II missile, India successfully put the missile through its paces from a test range off the coast of Odisha on Wednesday.

The missile was tested on June 15 at around 7.30 pm, according to the statement, and the test validated all operational and technical parameters of the missile.

Prithvi-II Missile

  • Prithvi-II is an indigenously developed Surface-to-Surface Missile Short-Range Ballistic Missile (SRBM) with a range of 250 km-350 km and a payload capacity of one tonne.
  • The Prithvi II class is a single-stage liquid-fueled missile with a warhead capacity of 500 kg to 1000 kg.
  • The missile is a tried-and-true system that can hit targets with pinpoint accuracy.
  • The cutting-edge missile employs an advanced inertial guidance system with a maneuvering trajectory to hit its target.
  • It was designed with the Indian Air Force as its primary user in mind, but it was later adopted by the Indian Army as well.

Created by

India’s Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO), through its Integrated Guided Missile Development Program (IGMDP).

What exactly is the Prithvi Missiles?

The Prithvi (Sanskrit for “Earth”) missile is a family of tactical surface-to-surface short-range ballistic missiles (SRBM) developed by India’s Defense Research and Development Organization (DRDO). The Prithvi was India’s first in-house ballistic missile.

The Prithvi was developed beginning in 1983 and first tested on February 25, 1988, from Sriharikota, SHAR Centre, Potti Sriramulu, Nellore district, Andhra Pradesh. It has a range of 150 to 300 kilometers.

What exactly is the Integrated Guided Missile Development Programme?

The Prithvi ballistic missile was India’s first indigenously developed ballistic missile, developed by the Integrated Guided Missile Development Program (IGMDP). It’s a road-mobile short-range ballistic missile (SRBM) with a single-stage, two engines, and liquid fuel. The Prithvi’s development began in 1983, and it was first fired on February 25, 1988. Since then, the three Prithvi versions have been tested twenty times.

Five Missiles Developed as Part of the IGMDP

  1. Prithvi: Short-range surface-to-surface ballistic missile.
  2. Agni: medium-to-intercontinental surface-to-surface missile
  3. Trishul: A short-range, low-level surface-to-air missile
  4. Akash: It is a medium-range surface-to-air missile.
  5. Nag: The “top attack” anti-tank missile of the third generation is a “fire & forget” system.

The 5 missiles (P-A-T-N-A) developed under this program are Prithvi, Agni, Trishul, Nag, and Akash.

ONP Home Click Here
Official Website Click Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.